30 for 30 update #2

Time for an update on my frivolity project 🙂

Uncompleted Goals

#4. Pray more. Does anyone have any tips to help me with this?

#5. Do a jigsaw. I’ve done a 30-piece Frozen jigsaw about 100 times, but I don’t think that counts.

#6. Finish my jumper (that I started about four years ago!). Winter is nearly over, shall I just put this off until September?

#8. Learn and perform a new piece. I can scratch out Baa Baa Black Sheep on the violin, but I think I had better stick to the piano for this one.

#10. Exercise more. Well! I’ve signed up for a running course, starting in March! Check me out!

#15. Enter a baking competition (or run one?!). Need to hunt for a non-scary village fair or something where I can put in a Victoria sponge.

#16. Host a dinner party. Plenty of recipes clipped, but no party had.

#17. Do something different or dramatic with my hair. Hmmm. Funds a little low. So we’ll see.

#19. Do a 10K run. See #10 above.

#21. Sew a skirt or dress. Let’s start with sewing the buttons on the massive pile of mending sitting in my cupboard…

#22. Invest in and use good face creams (I’m in my 30s now!). Still no wrinkles, woohoo!

#23. Go out for Japanese food. Next time we have a babysitter…

#24. Host Christmas. TBA.

#25. Start studying something. My lengthy to-do list is getting shorter, so I shall soon run out of excuses for not doing this, which will actually be great.

#27. Do a hat making class/course. Oh my, I looked into this, and… the cost! Not sure this will happen this year.

#28. Go on a hot holiday. Um.

#29. Spa day. I had a long hot bath, does that count?

#30. Go on a weekend trip with Nick (Paris? Bruges? Bognor?). I don’t know. I just miss my babies too much. But probably this would be a good idea.

Completed Goals

#1. Picnic at a park or beach. Tick!

#2. Read a book. Tick tick tick!

#3. Blog more. Hello!

#7. Make macarons. I did it! And I have more egg whites to practise again!

#9. Swim in the sea. Tick!

#11. Make someone a birthday cake. Tick!

#12. Go on a day trip to the seaside (Weston-super-Mare, anyone?). Tick!

#14. Buy new cushions for the lounge. Tick!

#18. Have a facial. Aaaah. Bliss.

#20. Take the children to the zoo. Many, many times.

In progress

#13. Sort photos into albums. I’m looking into photo books this week.

#26. Floss every day. How long does it take for a habit to form, because I’ve been doing this for FIVE MONTHS!

Goals completed: 10  (# 1, 2, 3, 7, 9, 11, 12, 14, 18, 20)

Goals in progress: 2  (#13, 26)

Not started: 18 (#4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 15, 16, 17, 19, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 27, 28, 29, 30)

Really, I had better make a priority of some of these. #4, 6, 8, and 10 are all totally doable and would be really beneficial.

I love goals lists. It’s not even about doing everything that’s on the list, it’s more about thinking over aspirations and motivations. Obviously, I have loads of aspirations that don’t appear on this list, but I think that having a someday/maybe list is helpful to me because it’s a place I can download some of my want goals (rather than need goals) so that they don’t clog up my brain. Because I am a Bear of Little Brain 🙂

2 thoughts on “30 for 30 update #2

  1. Valerie says:

    Hi. 🙂 I have a suggestion on praying. Choose a time when the kids are in bed (!), find instrumental music on youtube and wear headphones to block out any other noise. And just talk to Him. Concerns, praises, requests… I have amazing days when I spend a little time in the morning talking to Him!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Laura Wu says:

      Thank you! It can be SO HARD during the day, when the noise around the house is constant, to talk to Him. Your suggestion is a good one. I will try it! I am also thinking of getting up a little earlier (before the kids do) to read and pray – but haven’t managed it so far with a baby who has been waking at night lately! I should also put PRAY on my do-list. Those things are always on my mind, because I look at the list all day long. I know praying isn’t something we can ever tick off as done, but it would be a start. X

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

